Why I Drink Lemon Water

Hello  everyone, I hope the weekend is treating you right. Today I decided to tell you why I drink lemon water.
20170303_222205-1

Lemon is a citrus fruit known to contain vitamins A, B, C and E. As a child, lemon was one of those fruits I dreaded. Once you have cough or runny nose, my mother either makes ‘agbo’ (herbal drink with all sorts of fruits and leaves) or she throws lemon in hot water for you to drink. If its cough, she would be nice enough to add honey and if it isn’t cough, you are going to drink that bitter thing like that. Obviously, I didn’t appreciate it then but now I do. Lemon juice is also used to fight infections, whiten teeth, lighten the skin (in mild terms) and aid weight loss.

I take lemon water whenever I am on my guilt trip. Guilt trip that I get to deal with when it about that time of the month (both ladies and gentlemen understand). Craving for everything sweet goes way up; and I feed it! If you like judge me, e dey your body. Biscuits, chocolate bars, truffles and every other thing sweet, I feed on to feel better and avoid my mouth tasting bitter.

When that period of life is over, I would usually take green tea to get all the junk out of my body but these days I take lemon. I think green tea just cleanses, it doesn’t hydrate my body. I take lemon water because it does both and even more. It helps to maintain healthy cells. You can read more about other benefits of lemon.

I basically just get one fresh lemon, wash slice it thinly (you can slice anyhow you want, I even cut myself while slicing).

new-phototastic-collage

I put it in the slices in a small jug and fill with warm water. Leave it for 20-30 minutes just to let the nutrients get into the water after which you can drink. You can keep filling the jar with water to drink throughout the day. I think you can do that till about 12hrs before it ferments. The color of your urine would tell you if lemon has done its work.
PS: you can drink lemon water like an hour after you take alcohol to reduce the effect. That’s if you are not too high to remember to take lemon at all.

Thanks for reading guys, XOXO. If you use lemon water, kindly share what you use it for and why in the comment box.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

